Summer camp is coming already . . . can you smell it in the air?  Sawdust fresh from the saws and the sanders above the reek of burnt hydrocarbons.

Can you feel the smoothness of the yellow pine in the palm of your hand?

I have just spent three hours putting the last dozen boxes of glorious stuff on shelves to get them off the working surfaces of the shop.  I have people coming to the shop tomorrow evening to build PineWoodDerby cars.  Life is so good.

 I’ve started building Jack Sparrow’s sea chest . . . well, one of them, anyway, to see how much material I need to get ready for summer.  You know, the box with the hump in the lid?  Gonna be a doozie.  Pictures in a couple of weeks, I hope.  I use my phone to talk with and my camera to take photos.

And speaking of pictures . . . I found some.  No; not on the ‘net; some I took of kids building stuff and riding on downhill racers they built in my shop, and hanging around with rockets a couple of feet taller than they are.  Fortunately the rocket comes apart in sections so the parachute can deploy, so it’ll fit in the sea chest . . . custom built to fit. 

 I don’t know if we’ll have time this summer to build a French War Kite, but they are supremely cool.  They’re called that, because the French army actually built kites big enough to carry a soldier up to scope out the whole battlefield.  Of course their enemies had many a fine marksman in their own armies, so there never was quite what you’d call a rush of volunteers for flight duty.  Ours will be considerably smaller.  And less warlike.  We can build “messengers” to sail up the line and drop parachutes when the get to the kite.

I’ll get those photos scanned tomorrow or Saturday so I can put them on the blog.  See if you recognize anybody.Image

WindWalkerCamp is in the toenails of the Missouri Ozark foothills outside of Neosho.  We’re far enough off the road to be quiet and undisturbed, and we’re close enough to town to get the mail and fresh groceries.  Wait’ll I tell you about the kitchen we’re building.

“The mind cannot forget what the hands have learned.”

