The instructions say, and I quote, “ . . . let the bottles sit a room temperature for a day or two to let the yeast eat some of the sugar and carbonate the root beer or soda, then we chill the bottles to 45oF or lower to stop the yeast.”

It’s not 45 degrees outside right now.  The challenge is that a five-gallon batch makes fifty-three bottles of root beer.  Therefore, half a batch makes 27 bottles of root beer.  Kathryn and I only have a single refrigerator here at the house.  I am not going to put a second refrigerator in the shop just to chill root beer.  (. . . Now that’s not a bad idea when I come to think about it.)

At summer camp we’ll have to come up with a way to keep it cool in the Missouri Ozark summer.  Set the bottles in the creek when it’s flowing.  Talk to the neighbors across the road about stashing them in the Buffalo River.  Set a hose drip on a burlap sack.  This sounds like an engineering challenge to me.

Theoretically I can proportionally divide the recipe, but that can get squirrelly in a hurry.  I just checked the five-day weather forecast . . . holy cow!  It doesn’t even get that cool at night.  WindWalkerCamp is a rustic camp . . . that means “tents.”  That is a good thing.

I guess I’ll have to go to Plan “B” or Plan “C” or just “Fake it; smile; tell ‘em it’s in the Lesson Plan.”

Fortunately Plan B is “mix up a batch of homemade ice cream” (after all, somebody has to test the recipe), and Plan C is “start collecting lumber to build the trebuchet.”  This one is a project I’ve been working toward for half a dozen years.

So those are in the works.  Also this week is testing an “E”-series model rocket to see how it flies on a “D.”

Thanks for reading.  Stay thirsty, my friends.

http://www.windwalkercamp.com

What the hands learn the mind cannot forget.

